Our People

The work of the Virginia War Memorial is carried out by the Virginia War Memorial Foundation’s Board of Directors, foundation and state staff, and volunteers. The War Memorial’s state staffers work under the Virginia Department of Veterans Services.

Together, this public-private partnership provides visitors with meaningful experiences while educating the public and planning for the sustainable future of the Memorial.


Dr. Clay Mountcastle was appointed Director of the Virginia War Memorial in June 2016.

A retired U.S. Army officer, his military service took him to Germany, South Korea and Iraq on assignments with the 82nd Airborne Division, U.S. Army 5th Corps and U.S. Army Special Operations Command.

He is a 1994 graduate of the Virginia Military Institute and holds a Masters and PhD in History from Duke University. Most recently, he served as Professor of Military History at the University of Washington in Seattle and as an Assistant Professor of Military History at the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College at Fort Lee, Virginia.

He is the author of Punitive War: Confederate Guerillas and Union Reprisals and numerous articles published in Civil War Monitor and other military history publications.

Pam SeayPamela “Pam” Seay became President of the Virginia War Memorial Foundation in December 2019, bringing over thirty years of experience in non-profit administration to the organization. She has focused expertise in board development and fundraising.

Pam recently retired from the Virginia Historical Society after nearly three decades, the last ten of which she served as the Senior Vice President for Advancement. During her tenure she worked with a committed team of professional staffers and volunteers to raise more than $150 million for capital projects, annual support, the organization’s endowment, and special programs.

She is widely-known and regarded across Virginia and within museum circles and is frequently asked to consult, lead workshops, and to speak to non-profit professionals on emerging fund-raising issues and trends.

Virginia War Memorial Foundation Board of Directors

Chartered in 2000, the Virginia War Memorial Foundation (VWMF) is the non-profit organization that financially supports the educational and patriotic programs, museum exhibits, documentary films, and student-teacher outreach of the Memorial as well as various capital projects and expenses. The Foundation’s Board of Directors is a diverse team of community leaders, veterans, and patriots who dedicate their time, energy, and expertise to ensure the War Memorial’s financial stability. Each director has his or her own personal connection to the Memorial and its work.

Executive Committee

CDR Kathleen P. Owens, USN (Ret.)

Ms. Linda V. Schreiner
Immediate Past Chair

Mr. Richard L. St. John, Jr.
First Vice-Chair

Mr. Michael L. Santoro, Jr. 
Second Vice-Chair

LTC Joseph C. Barto, III, USA (Ret.)

Mr. Bill Davis

Board of Directors

Mr. Robert A. Archer

Ms. Lacyn Barton

Mrs. Judy Brown

Mr. David A. Christian

Mr. John V. Cogbill, III

Mr. Stephen Y. Dickinson

MG Robert M. Dyess, Jr., USA (Ret.)

LTG Robert B. Flowers, USA (Ret.)

MG LH Ginn, USA (Ret.)

The Honorable William J. Howell

LTG Joseph R. Inge, USA (Ret.)

Ms. Alison Kaufmann

CWO-3 Michael A. Kord, USMC (Ret.)

Ms. Shari E. Litow

Mr. John A. Luke, Jr.

The Honorable Alexander B. McMurtrie, Jr.

The Honorable John M. O’Bannon, MD

CAPT Michael M. Rand, USN (Ret.)

RADM Frank F. Rennie, IV, USN (Ret.)

LTC Ronald O. White, USA (Ret.)

Directors Emeritus

Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr.

CDR Paul E. Galanti, USN (Ret.)

RADM John G. Hekman, USN (Ret.)

Virginia War Memorial Foundation Staff

Staff Image

Pamela Seay


Staff Image

Mary-Michael Wachur

Director of Communications and Development

Staff Image

Brenna Magette

Development Operations Director

Staff Image

Annie Warman

Annual Fund and Database Manager

Virginia War Memorial Staff

To reach a state staff member by phone, please dial 804.786.2060. For general inquiries, please use our Contact Form.

Dr. Clay Mountcastle

Ben King 
Operations Director

Rob Paylor
Director of Special Projects

Suzanne Feigley
MultiMedia Services Manager

James Triesler
Director of Education

Crystal Coon
Assistant Director of Education

Kyndall Drumheller
Research & Policy Manager

Jesse Smith

Sylvia Marshall

Kyle Loving
Facilities Manager

To reach a state staff member by phone, please dial 804.786.2060. For general inquiries, please use our Contact Form.