The Wars

World War IIWorld War 2

The World War II Victory Medal commemorates military service during the Second World War and is awarded to any member of the United States military, including members of the armed forces of the Government of the Philippine Islands.  This medal is awarded for any Active Duty or Reserve service period between 7 Dec 41 and 31 Dec 46.

Korean War Korean War

The Korean Service Medal was established by President Truman in November 1950,  The Korean Service Medal was awarded for service between 27 June 1950 and 27 July 1954.  

Vietnam War Vietnam War

Created in July 1965 the Vietnam Service Medal is awarded to all service members of the Armed Forces who between July 4, 1965 and March 28, 1973, served in the following areas of Southeast Asia: Vietnam and the contiguous waters and airspace; Thailand, Laos, or Cambodia or the airspace thereof and in the direct support of military operations in Vietnam.

Persian Gulf War Persian Gulf War

The Southwest Asia Service Medal, authorized March 1991, is awarded to members of the U.S. Armed Forces who served in support of Operations Desert Shield or Desert Storm between Aug. 2, 1990 and Nov. 30, 1995 in one or more of the following areas: Persian Gulf, Red Sea, Gulf of Oman, Gulf of Aden, that portion of the Arabian Sea that lies north of 10 degrees north latitude and west of 68 degrees east longitude, and the land areas of Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates; or individuals serving in Egypt, Israel, Turkey, Syria and Jordan (including territorial airspace and waters) directly supporting combat operations between Jan. 17, 1991 and Nov. 30, 1995.

Afghanistan War Afganistan War

The Afghanistan Campaign Medal was established in 2004. It may be awarded to members of the uniformed services of the United States who serve or who have served in Afghanistan (or its contiguous air space) in support of Operation Enduring Freedom from Oct. 24, 2001 to a date to be announced.

Iraq War

Approved November 2004, the Iraq Campaign Medal (ICM) recognizes service members who are serving or have served in Iraq and the contiguous water area out to 12 nautical miles, and all air spaces above the land and above the contiguous water area out to 12 nautical miles of Iraq.  Service members have to have served in direct support of Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF). The period of eligibility is on or after March 19, 2003 to a future date to be determined by the Secretary of Defense or the cessation of OIF.

Information from: Air Force Personnel Center